RokSprocket needs the RokCommon Library and Plug-in installed and enabled. The RokCommon System Plug-in needs to be before the RokSprocket System Plug-in in the Plug-in Manager

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang beats Yaya Toure to Caf award Featured

08 Jan 2016
1633 times

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang beats Yaya Toure to Caf award


Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang beat Ivory Coast's Yaya Toure to win the Confederation of African Football's player of the year award.

In a vote of coaches and technical directors of Caf nations, Aubameyang got 143 points, with Manchester City midfielder Toure on 136 and Ghana and Swansea midfielder Ande Ayew on 112.

Aubameyang is the first player from his country to win the award.

Toure said he was "quite disappointed" but praised "brilliant" Aubameyang.

Toure had won the award for the last four years and was recently crowned BBC African footballer of the year for 2015.

He lifted the Nations Cup trophy in February last year as Ivory Coast took the African crown for the first time in more than 20 years.

Aubameyang is the Bundesliga's leading scorer so far this season, with 18 goals in 17 league games.

The Gabonese star thanked his family, team-mates and the Gabon president Ali Bongo Ondimba, who hailed Aubameyang's "dazzling intuition" and "an attack of unparalleled velocity".

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments

This web site exists for the benefit of all supporters, enthusiasts and
people with genuine love for Liberian (Tebelleh) football.

Our efforts are aimed at providing you with up to date information on the
Liberia national football team, scores and game highlights, stories, players
profile, pictures and interviews of players.

Recent News

Photo Gallery