RokSprocket needs the RokCommon Library and Plug-in installed and enabled. The RokCommon System Plug-in needs to be before the RokSprocket System Plug-in in the Plug-in Manager

Bassa to host National County Sports Meet’s opener

23 Sep 2015
3660 times

Bassa to host National County Sports Meet’s opener


By Kolubah Zayzay



The Organizers of the National County Sports Meet, the Youth and Sports Ministry, says the 2015/2016 edition of the tournament will officially kick off December 12.

According to Deputy Youth and Sports Minister, Henry Younton, the sports fete will take place at the Doris Williams Sports Stadium in Buchanan, Grand Bassa County, where Group One qualifying matches will take place.

Deputy Minister Younton made the disclosure Tuesday, September 22, 2015 when he announced the commencement date of the event at a news conference at the Sports Ministry, after the group stage draw.

He said the Antoinette Tubman Stadium (ATS) will host the tournament’s quarter final and grand final matches.

According to the games schedules, defending football Champions, Grand Bassa County, is paired against, Bong, River Gee and Sinoe Counties in Group One.
In Group two, defeated football finalists, Nimba County, will host Grand Cape Mount, Bomi and Maryland Counties in Sanniquellie.

Group Three matches will take place in Zwedru City, Grand Gedeh County, the county will play host to Lofa, Rivercess and Grand Kru counties.
Margibi, Montserrado and Gbarpolu Counties are paired against each other in Group Four and they will play their matches at the Nancy B. Doe Stadium in Kakata.

“Only four sporting disciplines will feature in the upcoming National County Sports Meet, instead of the usual five,” Deputy Minister Yonton also told the news conference.

He named football, kickball, basketball and volleyball are the games that will feature in the competition.

The Ministry of Youth and Sports official further noted: “Track events will not be possible, because of renovation work been carried out at the Samuel Kenyan Doe (SKD) Sports Complex in Paynesville.”

“Though the Ministry is in search of Sponsors, counties will receive funds for their participation,” Mr. Yonton said.



Group I
Grand Bassa County
Bong County
River Gee County
Sinoe County
Venue: Doris Williams Stadium

Group II
Nimba County
Grand Cape Mount County
Maryland County
Bomi County
Venue: Sanniquellie Stadium

Group III
Grand Gedeh County
Lofa County
Rivercess County
Grand Kru County
Venue: Zwedru Stadium\

Group IV
Margibi County
Montserrado County
Gbarpolu County
Venue: Nancy B. Doe Stadium

Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Login to post comments

This web site exists for the benefit of all supporters, enthusiasts and
people with genuine love for Liberian (Tebelleh) football.

Our efforts are aimed at providing you with up to date information on the
Liberia national football team, scores and game highlights, stories, players
profile, pictures and interviews of players.

Popular Item

Recent News

Photo Gallery