RokSprocket needs the RokCommon Library and Plug-in installed and enabled. The RokCommon System Plug-in needs to be before the RokSprocket System Plug-in in the Plug-in Manager

History in the making:Jebor shortlisted for CAF Award, Laffor closer to Champions League glory Featured

17 Oct 2016
2583 times

By Boy Dolo

William Jebor and Anthony Laffor are on the verge of making history this year as a result of their splendid performances on the international scene.

Jebor, 24 is among 30 players shortlisted for the Confederation of African Football (Caf) Player of the Year award which will be given at a gala on 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Laffor on the other hand is one step closer to CAF Champions League glory.

The Liberia international striker was also shortlisted for this Year CAF Player Award for players based on the Continent.

Jebor is on loan at Moroccan Club Wydad Athletic Casablanca from Portugese Club Rio Ave.

He scored six goals during the just ended 2017 Nations Cup Qualifiers for Liberia.

The Rio Ave forward also netted four goals in the preliminary round of qualifiers for the 2018 World Cup.

He also netted a brace for Wydad in 5-2 victory over Zamalek in the CAF Champions League Semifinal recently.

Jebor made his debut for Liberia on 26 March 2011, starting in a 2–4 loss against Cape Verde. His first international goal came on 14 June 2015, in a 1–2 defeat at Togo.

On 13 October 2015 Jebor scored a hat-trick in a 3–1 win at Guinea-Bissau, after scoring another one in the first leg.

On March 29, 2016, he scored another hat-trick in a CAF 2017 qualification match in Monrovia, Liberia, between Djibouti and Liberia, becoming the only Liberian senior national football team player to score a hat-trick more than once in an international tournament.

Now Liberians are calling him the "victorious Boy" because he brings victory to the Fans as well as the Country.

Key among the nominees is Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, who is in the frame to win the award for the second time.

Aubameyang, who picked up the title last year, is named on a preliminary list of 30 for Caf's annual title, which will be awarded at a gala on 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, a four-times winner and runner-up to Aubameyang last year, is not on the list.

Toure, who captained Ivory Coast to Africa Cup of Nations success in 2015, was last year's BBC African Footballer of the Year, but has struggled this season under new Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola.

Cameroon legend Samuel Eto'o, currently in Turkey with Antalyaspor, is included in the list of names, and could win his fifth title.

There are five players who are also included on the list for the Africa-based player of the year, including Mamelodi Sundowns trio, Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe), Dennis Onyango (Uganda) and Keegan Dolly (South Africa).

12 of the 30 footballers play in the English Premier League, including Algeria's Riyad Mahrez who won England's PFA Player of the Year award last season.

At the same time, Anthony Laffor is close to becoming the first Liberian player to win the CAF Champions League following Mamelodi Sundowns 3-0 win over Egypt’s Zamalek at home on Saturday.

The home fans were getting impatience with Downs’ approach to goal, but that was finally lay to rest in the 31st minute as go-to-man Laffor rattled home.

Kekana picked up the ball in the middle of the park and following a marauding run at goal the Sundowns captain unleashed his fellow teammate; who turned his marker before firing into the top corner of the net.

With a certain William Jebor having caused the White Knights all sorts of problems in Rabat late last month, another Liberia international in Laffor did the same with the attacker a constant threat down the right flank in the proceeding minutes.

The home team moved three goals ahead less than a minute into the second half when Islam Gamal conceded an own-goal on an uncomfortably hot afternoon for the players.

Continental success for the South African outfit owned by mining magnate Patrice Motsepe will complete a remarkable turnaround this year in the premier African club football competition.

Sundowns were eliminated by V Club in the final qualifying round last April only to be reinstated when the Democratic Republic of Congo side were disqualified for using an ineligible player.

The Pretoria team went on to defeat five-time African champions Zamalek narrowly at home and away in the group stage, but taking a three-goal lead in the final exceeds their wildest dreams.

Should Sundowns be crowned champions after the return match in Alexandria next Sunday, they will become only the second South African winners of the competition after Orlando Pirates 21 years ago.

History favours Sundowns as only one club, Mouloudia Alger of Algeria in 1976, have overcome a three-goal first-leg deficit in a final.

The second-leg is scheduled to take place at the Borg El Arab Stadium in Alexandria on Sunday, 23 October 2016.

Last modified on Tuesday, 18 October 2016 00:44
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Login to post comments

This web site exists for the benefit of all supporters, enthusiasts and
people with genuine love for Liberian (Tebelleh) football.

Our efforts are aimed at providing you with up to date information on the
Liberia national football team, scores and game highlights, stories, players
profile, pictures and interviews of players.

Recent News

Photo Gallery